Angels At The Gate, by T.K. Thorne

As a child, I preferred classics over modern authors. I loved the language, and I loved the lyrical style of the sentences. Today, I enjoy contemporary fiction too, but there is something that classics have which the contemporary authors miss, no matter how amazing the book is. Don’t get me wrong; there are many amazing modern authors out there, and you could even justify that one must read books that deal with present day tales and present day issues. But a classic, to me, remains a classic.

Angels At The Gate, by T.K. Thorne is a classic.

Genre: Historical Fiction, Theological Fiction.
Frankly, I do not know if I can call it fiction, because the book is about biblical figures and clearly, a lot of historical research has gone into this book.

Summary: Adira is the daughter of Zakiti, a caravan owner and a member of Abram’s (Abraham’s) tribe. She is brought up as a boy by her father, so that she can grow up independent. Women’s roles were restricted to household activities and Adira had no interest in these. When she is fifteen, two men, Mika and Raph join their caravan. There are rumors that they are angels of their God, El, who used to speak to the tribe through Abram. Adira is infatuated with Raph and decides to reveal to him that she is actually a girl. However, their camp is attacked by raiders, who murder Zakiti and kidnap Raph. Before dying, Zakiti makes Adira swear she would go to Sarai (Abram’s wife) and agree to live the life that Sarai chooses for her. Adira decides to avenge her father and find the man she wants to marry. She sets off on a quest, accompanied by her faithful dog, Nami. After a lot of hardships, she eventually does go to Sarai as promised, who marries her off to her cousin, Lot (Abram’s nephew). Lot is a fanatical follower of El, who is despised by the people of his city, Sodom, for they worship the goddess, Asherah. In the religious drama that follows, what happens to Adira?

According to the scriptures, Lot is a righteous man whose wife was punished for disobeying El. Angels at the Gate is a story that tells you the other side. Was Lot really as righteous as the books say? Was Adira really punished? Did she deserve the punished if she was? This book is about all those questions. T. K. Thorne takes you on a journey through deserts and the world as it was in 1748 BC. As a reader, I loved Adira; her relationship with her father, her infatuation towards Raph, her hatred of Chiram, and eventual discovery of his kindness. Adira is a strong woman. In her, T. K Thorne has portrayed a woman as a woman should be, intelligent, bold, loving, and where need be, defiant.

T. K. Thorne is an amazing storyteller. The characters come alive, and I feel the heat of the deserts I read through! The pace is just right. There is no dull moment, and I never felt the need to rush through pages. I was so engrossed in the story, that I really did not want to put it down. In fact, I picked it up in the middle of the night, and read it in the dim light of my night-lamp! I think the last time I did that was with Gone With The Wind, which I read when I was fourteen!

If you want to read more about the book, here’s the Goodreads link.
You can buy it on Amazon.

My favorite quote:
“Mercy.
Do any of the gods care about such things or only that their contracts and agreements are fulfilled?”

Makes you think, doesn’t it!

Rating: 4.5/5

Note: This book was sent for review by Felicia Sinusas of Jane Wesman Public Relations Inc.

4 thoughts on “Angels At The Gate, by T.K. Thorne

Leave a Reply

