Audition, by Ryu Murakami

Look at that scary anime female. How creepily cute is she with that syringe and all!

My God, wasreesha-divakaran-rain-and-book-audition-murakamis this book hard to get! In every bookstore that I asked for Ryu Murakami, I was told where to find the books of Haruki Murakami (the two, by the way, are not related). And yes, in case you were wondering, I am old-fashioned, and I prefer to go to bookstores rather than buying them online, except as a last resort. Which is what I did in this case.

That, on the cover is, Yamasaki Asami. She is pure evil.

And I mean that as a compliment, Asami, please don’t hurt me *cowers in fear*.

Audition is the story of Aoyama, a widower whose teenage son (an intelligent and insightful boy, as mentioned way too many times) suggests he remarry, seven years after the death of his first wife. His friend suggests that they hold film auditions for a fake film to find the perfect wife – the plan is to later tell the girl that the film got shelved. Aoyama gets smitten by Asami and then, well, unpleasantness ensues.

This book is so short that you can finish it off in one sitting. But that doesn’t leave much scope for plot development, so the suspense was not all… well, suspenseful. There are hints dropped throughout, so as a reader, you can more or less predict where it’s going; it does not feel like a buildup. It feels a little rushed in fact.
The good thing though is that though you can predict where it’s going, you don’t know how it’s gonna happen till the last chapter. Once you reach the last chapter, my oh my! I’ve read my fair share of horror, but this was one of those times when… okay, I will not spoil it for anyone. It’s good, that’s all I am gonna say. Not scary, but just gross-out good.
I liked how cold blooded and seemingly indifferent Asami is. But there isn’t a lot of explanation as to what made her that way. It is mentioned that she had a bad past (cos every evil person has a terrible past – that’s Fiction 101) but you don’t see her metamorphosis into this terrible person. Aoyama has a dream about what happened – and that’s it. Also, what is the significance of the phrase “The Girl Who Lost Her Name”? Some loose threads here and there, but if you like gore, then do read this book.

Rating: 3.5/5

Buy it here.

2 thoughts on “Audition, by Ryu Murakami

Leave a Reply

