Bossypants, by Tina Fey

tina-fey-bossypants-sreesha-divakaran-rain-and-a-bookEveryone should head over to a bookstore (or Amazon) and get a copy of this book, like, right now.

I approach celebrity memoirs the same way I approach celebrity perfumes – by staying as far away from them as possible. Perhaps I am snooty when it comes to my literature and my fragrances, I don’t know. But I read a few excerpts of Tina Fey’s Bossypants on GR, and I just knew I had to read the whole thing. While we’re on the subject, may I add that I also got a copy of Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? Big changes in my life, who knows, I might step out and buy something from Lady Gaga’s range of perfumes. Holy hell, that’s adventurous!

This book will leave you in splits! I maintain a stoic expression when I read gore mysteries in public (I try really hard anyway). This is probably the only book I’ve read that’s from a genre on the other end of the line. I tried hard to maintain the same Master Shifu expression while reading Bossypants, but I have to say, it was really hard. People stared, I am not proud to say (ok, a little proud, on Tina Fey’s behalf) Here’s a bit from the first page:

If you’re a woman and you bought this book for practical tips on how to make it in a male-dominated workplace, here they are.

Perhaps you’re a parent and you bought this book to learn how to raise an achievement-oriented, drug-free, adult virgin. You’ll find that too.

Maybe you love Sarah Palin and you want to find reasons to hate me. We’ve got that!

Maybe it’s seventy years in the future and you found this book in a stack of junk being used to block the entrance of an abandoned Starbucks that is now a feeding station for the alien militia.

Here’s another bit that I really loved, but I must add it was mostly nervous laughter. Why, you ask? Because when I read it, I could picture my son in the scene and I just knew she was right.

Right now, my daughter’s not scared of my husband or me at all. I think it’s a problem. I was a freshman home from college the first time my dad said, “You’re going out at ten p.m.? I don’t think so,” and I just laughed and said, “It’s fine.” I feel like my daughter will be doing that to me by age six.

How can I give her what Don Fey gave me? The gift of anxiety.

This book covers the story of Tina Fey’s father (a formidable man, also, Don Fey in the above excerpt), her life at SNL, her husband’s fear of flying, her daughter, 30 rock, and a life filled with adventures and disasters. Her quirky, self-deprecatory humor makes this book one of the best I’ve read. There are jokes, there is feminism, there are parenting stories (along with a “prayer for my child” which was excellent (not in a serious and religious way))  there are stories of friendship; basically, I think Tina Fey is now one of my role models! I know I don’t go out of my way to read funny books, as you all probably know, but this is one book I would recommend to everyone.

Trivia: Bossypants won GR’s Readers’ Choice Award under the Humor category in the year it was released.

Get it here:

Amazon

(PS: If in Bangalore, you will find amazing discounts on this book at Blossoms Book House on Church Street. Just saying.

Ok, kinda pushing you really hard to go and buy it.

Just buy it, ok?)

10 thoughts on “Bossypants, by Tina Fey

    1. I love her too! I used to watch 30 Rock, and I should probably watch some old SNL as well!
      Oh, she just mentioned a funny (scary, actually) incident that happened to them while they were on their honeymoon, and how it was his fear of flying that actually led them to be in that situation.

      Like

  1. I read 3/4 of this book and then left it…The reason is that I had no clue what SNL or 30 Rock was. I still don’t know much…So I could not relate to it much…and the memoir part of it didn’t click though I liked the humor.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I read all that and enjoyed it…But then got distracted and the lack of connection with SNL or 30 Rock made it not a good read. So left it…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am familiar with 30 Rock, but haven’t watched it a whole lot. I have seen her on SNL though – a episode here and there. But I love what I see, and I heard the sample of this book, and I loved it. I am going for the audiobook in this case, as I would rather listen to her telling her story. Looking forward to this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

