Seriously… I’m Kidding, by Ellen DeGeneres

“I’ve already written other books – two as myself and dozens more under my pen name, Danielle Steel.”

Last year, with a seriously-im-kidding-ellen-degeneres-sreesha-divakaran-rain-and-bookfew shaky steps, I forayed into the world of celebrity memoirs. I shouldn’t say last year, it was just last month technically speaking, and what is time but a continuous wave of ever flowing… maybe I shouldn’t be JadenSmithing you right now.

I started off with a really good one – Tina Fey’s Bossypants. But the two books that followed were wee bit less impressive – Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me and this one. Especially this one.

Don’t get me wrong, this book is really very funny. But it is too random. Again, I may just be unfairly comparing it to Bossypants, which had a very linear sequence of events, but this was too random. Some chapters were written only for the sake of humour, and this resulted in it seeming forced. There are some chapters that are merely bullet points of random possibly-humour-generating statements. Or words.

Ellen is a lot of fun and spontaneous on her show. This book is only for her fans, cos I feel those who are not familiar with her style wouldn’t find this book funny at all. Her jokes have an over-the-top edge when she delivers the punchline that you simply must be familiar with to follow the book.

If you’re a fan, pick up the book, as it is an extension of watching her on TV. If not, you can totally give this one a miss.

Get it here: Amazon

Leave a Reply

